Home|Search|Identify|Taxonomic tree|Quiz|About this site|Feedback
Developed by ETI BioInformatics
Characteristics, distribution and ecology
Taxonomische classification
Synonyms and common names
Literature references
Images, audio and video
Links to other Web sites

Family Mustelidae - Otters (2 marine species in 2 genera)

The mustelids are the otters, weasels, and their kin. Other mustelids include the minks, polecats, martens, wolverines, skunks, and badgers. Only 2 of the 67 species in this family are truly marine, the sea otter and the marine otter. It is clear that “fresh-water” otters in certain areas enter marine waters; however, we restrict our treatment to species usually considered among marine mammals. Otters are often classified in their own subfamily, the Lutrinae (containing 12 species).


Genus Enhydra containing 1 marine species:

Enhydra lutris (Sea otter)

Genus Lutra containing 1 marine species:

Lutra felina (Marine otter)

Otters (Family Mustelidae)