Home|Search|Identify|Taxonomic tree|Quiz|About this site|Feedback
Developed by ETI BioInformatics
Characteristics, distribution and ecology
Taxonomische classification
Synonyms and common names
Literature references
Images, audio and video
Links to other Web sites

Order Carnivora

By far, most carnivores are terrestrial mammals. Besides pinnipeds, the Order Carnivora contains 7 families of largely meat-eating mammals, including cats, dogs, bears, raccoons, weasels, otters, civets, and hyenas. Of these, only 2 families contain marine mammal representatives, the Mustelidae (otters and weasels) and the Ursidae (bears). As only 3 of these 231 non-pinniped species of carnivores are marine mammals, we will not present the detailed characteristics of members of this order.

Carnivores (Order Carnivora)