Home|Search|Identify|Taxonomic tree|Quiz|About this site|Feedback
Developed by ETI BioInformatics
Characteristics, distribution and ecology
Taxonomische classification
Synonyms and common names
Literature references
Images, audio and video
Links to other Web sites

Dana, 1852

Carapace pubescent, with transverse granular lines on frontal, protogastric, and mesogastric regions, sometimes granules also on cardiac region, epibranchial line interrupted at the cervical groove and across midline; front with 6 triangular teeth, median ones rounded laterals subacute; antero-lateral borders with 6 teeth, first and second smaller than the following ones and second much smaller than first; postero-lateral junctions rounded. Antennal flagellum excluded from orbit. Cheliped merus with 3 spinules on anterior border, posterior border smooth; carpus with a strong internal spine, outer border with 3 spines; palm with 4 spines on upper border. Merus of swimming leg with a subdistal posterior spine, propodus with 4-7 denticles on posterior border. (Türkay 1995)

Antennal flagellum excluded from orbital hiatus; frontal teeth triangular; posterior border of cephalothorax curved, forming curved postero-lateral junction; 6 antero-lateral teeth, first antero-lateral tooth not the largest, and not truncate; second antero-lateral tooth distinctly smaller than first; last antero-lateral tooth at most slightly longer and more prominent than preceeding teeth; no distinct cardiac ridges on carapace. (Davie 1999)

Type locality: Mindanao, Philippines.
Range: Red Sea - (Klunzinger, 1913), Assab, Eritrea (Apel & Spiridonov, 1998); Mozambique - Delagoa Bay (Barnard, 1950); South Africa - Durban (Stebbing, 1918); Madagascar - Nosy Bé (Lenz & Richters, 1881), Mahajanga (Crosnier, 1962); Réunion (Apel & Spiridonov, 1998); Mauritius (Michel, 1964); Pakistan; India - Bombay (Chhapgar, 1957), Pedro Shoal, Madras; Sri Lanka; Arakan coasts; West Malay Peninsula - Terytao I., Thailand (Stephenson, 1972a); West Sumatra - Nias (Leene, 1938); Japan - Tatsugahama, Gobo, Tosa Bay and Kagoshima Bay (Sakai, 1939), Sagami Bay, Kii Nagashima, Kii Minabe, Nada, Kushimoto, Tosa Bay, and Kagoshima Bay (Sakai, 1976a), Kushimoto and Gobo (Miyake, 1983); Taiwan - Kaohsiung Province, Chi-lung, I-lan Province, and T'ai-tung Province (Huang & Yu, 1997), Chi-lung (Apel & Spiridonov, 1998); China - Hainan Island (Dai & Yang, 1991); Thailand; Malaysia; Singapore; Philippines - Mindanao (Dana, 1852), Zamboanga (Stephenson, 1972a), Tilig Bay, southern Luzon (Stephenson, 1976); Indonesia - Karakelong Island, Salibabu Island, and Ceram (Leene, 1938), Ambon (Apel & Spiridonov, 1998); Australia - Mooloolabah, Burleigh, Mackay, Cairns and Great Sandy Strait (Stephenson et al., 1957), from Cairns to Burleigh, Queensland and New South Wales; Tahiti (Apel & Spiridonov, 1998); 10-50 m.

Charybdis orientalis