Home|Search|Identify|Taxonomic tree|Quiz|About this site|Feedback
Developed by ETI BioInformatics
Characteristics, distribution and ecology
Taxonomische classification
Synonyms and common names
Literature references
Images, audio and video
Links to other Web sites

(Linnaeus, 1758)

Carapace with orbits moderately oblique; front narrow, narrowest between eyestalk bases, frontal groove moderately wide, with sides diverging rapidly posteriorly; antero-lateral margins short, sometimes absent, converging, exorbital tooth little produced, acute; suborbital crenellations strong, distinct, no tubercles on floor of orbit. Palm of major cheliped with oblique ridge high, thin and sharp, usually with close set tubercles; outer face near base of immovable finger with a extremely large low triangular depression, reaching from the middle of the palm to the base of dactyl and ending in a longitudinal furrow on immovable finger; dactylus without longitudinal furrows; gape of female chelae without enlarged teeth. Horny terminal endpiece of male first pleopod with anterior flange larger than posterior, inner process well separated from posterior flange; palp of moderate size, subdistal. (Türkay 1995)

Type locality: Madaum, Mindanao, Philippines.
Range: Red Sea (Nobili, 1906, Laurie, 1915); Indian Ocean (Ortmann, 1894); Zanzibar (Hilgendorf, 1869); Tanzania - Dar es Salaam (Hartnoll, 1975), Lindi (Chace, 1942); Mozambique - Delagoa Bay (Barnard, 1950), Inhaca Island (Macnae & Kalk, 1958); South Africa - Durban (Stebbing, 1921a, Day & Morgans, 1956), mouth of Umgazana River near Port St. Johns (Barnard, 1950); Madagascar - Nosy Faly and Nosy Bé (Hoffmann, 1874), Nosy Bé (Lenz & Richters, 1881), Tuléar (Lenz, 1910), Nosy Bé, Nosy Faly and Tuléar (Crosnier, 1965); Mauritius (Aurivillius, 1893, Michel, 1964); Rodriguez Island (Miers, 1879a); India - Malabar (H. Milne Edwards, 1852), Coromandel and Malabar coast (Alcock, 1900b), Gulf of Mannar (Gravely, 1927), Bombay (Chhapgar, 1957); Andaman Islands (Alcock, 1900b); Nicobar Islands (Heller, 1865, Alcock, 1900b); Burma - Rangoon (Crane, 1975); Mergui Archipelago (Chopra & Das, 1937); Malaya - (Miers, 1880b, Tweedie, 1937), Port Dickson (Buitendijk, 1947), Pinang and Port Dickson (Crane, 1975); Singapore (Walker, 1887, Ortmann, 1894a, Crane, 1975); Sumatra - (de Man, 1891), Padang (von Raben, 1934); Japan - Okinawa (Stimpson, 1858b, 1907), Nagasaki (Sakai, 1939), Sea of Ariake (Miyake, 1961), Ishigaki and Iriomote-jima (Yamaguchi & Takeda, 1973a, Sakai, 1976a), Ishigaki-jima and Kume-jima (Crane, 1975), Nagasaki, Ishigaki-jima, and Iriomote-jima (Sakai, 1976a), Ishigaki-jima (Miyake, 1983), Yoron-jima (Muraoka, 1998), Okukubi River, Okinawa (Shokita et al., 1998), Ginowan, Okinawa (Shokita et al., 2000); Taiwan - (Dai & Yang, 1991), Tan-shui (Sakai, 1939), Tafuko, An-ping, and Tan-shui (Lin, 1949); China - Tsimei and Xiamen, Fujian Province (Shen, 1940b), Hainan Island and Fujian (Dai & Yang, 1991); Hong Kong (Stimpson, 1858b, 1907, Gee, 1925, Shen, 1940); Philippines - (Adams & White, 1848, Estampador, 1937, 1959), Manila (Desmarest, 1825), Luzon (Ortmann, 1894a), Davao Gulf (Ward, 1941), Zamboanga, Davao Gulf, Sasa, Madaum, Palawan, and Lamao, Luzon (Crane, 1975), Davao (Muraoka, 1998); Sulu Archipelago - Tawitawi and Jolo (Crane, 1975); Borneo - Labuan, Sabah (Crane, 1975); Indonesia - Java (H. Milne Edwards, 1852), Kepulauan Aru (Miers, 1886), Ambon (de Man, 1888d), Celebes, Makassar and Parepare (de Man, 1892b), Ternate (de Man, 1902a, Tweedie, 1937), Makassar and Wahaai, Ceram (Rathbun, 1910b), Donggala, Kuandang Bay, and Talaud Islands (Tesch, 1918a), Java (Verwey, 1930), Bawean, Java, Makassar and Ternate (Crane, 1975); New Guinea - Louisiade Archipelago (Haswell, 1882c), Kaiser-Wilhelms-Land (Ortmann, 1894a); Australia - Port Darwin (Haswell, 1882c), Queensland and New South Wales (Macnae, 1966); Palau (Sakai, 1939, Takeda & Hayashi, 1973); New Caledonia - (A. Milne Edwards, 1873); Tuvalu - Funafuti (Borradaile, 1900); Fiji - (Dana, 1851, 1852, Miers, 1886, de Man, 1891, Ortmann, 1894a), Rotuma (Borradaile, 1900); Samoa (Ortmann, 1894a, Nobili, 1907, Maccagno, 1928).

Uca vocans