Home|Search|Identify|Taxonomic tree|Quiz|About this site|Feedback
Developed by ETI BioInformatics
Characteristics, distribution and ecology
Taxonomische classification
Synonyms and common names
Literature references
Images, audio and video
Links to other Web sites

(Herbst, 1790)

Carapace with orbits moderately oblique; front narrow, narrowest between eyestalk bases, frontal groove moderately wide, with sides diverging rapidly posteriorly; antero-lateral margins short but distinct, converging, exorbital tooth little produced, acute; suborbital crenellations strong, distinct, no tubercles on floor of orbit. Palm of major cheliped with oblique ridge low and blunt, without enlarged tubercles; outer face near base of immovable finger with a low triangular depression of variable extent, ending in a longitudinal furrow on immovable finger; dactylus without longitudinal furrows; gape of female chelae without enlarged teeth. Horny terminal endpiece of male first pleopod with anterior flange slightly narrower than posterior; palp of moderate size, subdistal, its tip not nearly reaching base of terminal endpiece. (Türkay 1995)

Type locality: Unknown.
Range: Sinai Peninsula (Doflein, 1899, Holthuis, 1958); Red Sea (Rüppell, 1830, H. Milne Edwards, 1837, 1852, Heller, 1865, Kossmann, 1877, Nobili, 1906, Laurie, 1915, Balss, 1924a), near Bosso, Isole Key, Massawa, and Green Island (Crane, 1975); Gulf of Aden - Aden (Crane, 1975); Somalia - Bender Mtoni (Vannini & Valmori, 1981); Zanzibar (Hilgendorf, 1869, Crane, 1975); Dar es Salaam (Hartnoll, 1975); Madagascar - Nosy Bé (Hoffmann, 1874), Nosy Bé and Tuléar (Crosnier, 1965); Seychelles - Seychelles (Bouvier, 1915b), Mahé (Borradaile, 1907b), Aldabra Island (Crane, 1975); Mauritius (H. Milne Edwards, 1837, Bouvier, 1915b, Michel, 1964, Crane, 1975); Maldives (Rathbun, 1902b); Chagos Archipelago - (Borradaile, 1907b), Diego Garcia (Crane, 1975); India; Andaman Islands (Alcock, 1900b); Nicobar Islands (Heller, 1865); Burma - (Sewell, 1913), Rangoon (Crane, 1975); Japan - Okinawa-jima and Iriomote-jima (Takeda, 1973e), Ishigaki and Iriomote-jima (Sakai, 1976a), Ishigaki-jima and Kohama-jima (Sakai, 1976a), Iriomote-jima (Ho et al., 1993); Taiwan - Nan-Wan, Wanlitung, Houwan and Dulanwan (Ho et al., 1993); Malay Peninsula - Terengganu (Lanchester, 1902); Singapore (Lanchester, 1900); Philippines - (Estampador, 1937, 1959), Davao Gulf (Crane, 1975); Sulu Archipelago - Tawitawi (Crane, 1975); Indonesia - Kepulauan Aru (Miers, 1886), Noordwachter Island (de Man, 1888d), Wahaai, Ceram (Rathbun, 1910b), Sumbawa, Kepulauan Talaud, and Kepulauan Kai (Tesch, 1918a); New Guinea - Japen Island, Numfor, New Hollandia, and Marine Kazerne (Crane, 1975); Australia - Sydney (Hess, 1865, Crane, 1975); Palau (Takeda, 1973e, Takeda & Hayashi, 1973); Yap Island (Sakai, 1976a); Caroline Islands (Crane, 1975); Wake Island (Edmondson, 1925, Crane, 1975); Marshall Islands - (Balss, 1938a, Miyake, 1959), Jaluit (Crane, 1975); Gilbert Islands - (Balss, 1938a, Miyake, 1959), Tarawa (Rathbun, 1907), Apiang (Crane, 1975); Ellice Islands (Whitelegge, 1898); Funafuti (Whitelegge, 1898); New Caledonia - (Crane, 1975), Nepoui (Takeda & Nunomura, 1976); Samoa - (de Man, 1891), Upolu (Dana, 1852), Savaii Island and Apia (Crane, 1975); Tonga Islands - Tongatabu (Dana, 1852, H. Milne Edwards, 1852, Ortmann, 1897b, Rathbun, 1907, Crane, 1975); Hawaiian Islands; Line Islands - Palmyra Island (Edmondson, 1923), Fanning Island and Penrhyn Island (Crane, 1975); Society Islands - Bora-Bora (Guérin-Méneville, 1829, Rathbun, 1907), Tahiti (Miers, 1886, 1891, Ortmann, 1894a), Bora-Bora, Tahiti and Raiatea (Crane, 1975); Tuamotu Archipelago - Rikitea (Nobili, 1907), Raroia (Crane, 1975); Salanga Islands (Ortmann, 1894a).

Uca tetragonon