Home|Search|Identify|Taxonomic tree|Quiz|About this site|Feedback
Developed by ETI BioInformatics
Characteristics, distribution and ecology
Taxonomische classification
Synonyms and common names
Literature references
Images, audio and video
Links to other Web sites

(Herbst, 1799)

The lateral margins of the carapace have a defined epibranchial spine or tooth. The frontal margin is cut into four teeth or lobes more or less projecting; a deep antennal sinus separates the lateral frontal lobe and the internal superior orbital angle. The inferior margin of the cheliped palm is furnished with coarse, pointed granules forming saw-like teeth. The teeth of the front are more deeply separated from each other; the summits of the submedians do not reach the level of the lateral teeth. On a reddish-white background the chelipeds and ambulatory legs are furnished with reddish or orange spots. The carapace has about 100 to 200 spots. (Serène, 1984)

Type locality: unknown.
Range: Somalia - Gesira (Galil & Lewinsohn, 1985a); Kenya - Mombasa (Serène, 1984, Castro, 1999a); Zanzibar (Hilgendorf, 1869); Mozambique - Delagoa Bay (Barnard, 1950), Coconut Bay (Castro, 1999a); South Africa - Cape of Good Hope (MacLeay, 1838), Mbotye, Eastern Cape Province (Castro, 1999a); Mayotte (Serène, 1984, Castro, 1999a); Iles Glorieuses (Miers, 1884b, Castro, 1999a); Madagascar - Tamatave (Galil & Lewinsohn, 1985a, Castro, 1999a); Seychelles - Praslin (Serène, 1984), Etoile, Amirante Islands (Galil & Lewinsohn, 1985a), Praslin, Mahé, Aride and Desnoeufs (Castro, 1999a); Mauritius (Bouvier, 1915b, Michel, 1964, Castro, 1999a); India; Sri Lanka - (Alcock, 1898), Galle (Serène, 1971a), Galle and Wiligama (Galil & Lewinsohn, 1985a); Maldives - (Borradaile, 1902b, Serène, 1971a), S. Nilandu Atoll and Addu Atoll (Galil & Lewinsohn, 1985a), Addu Atoll (Castro, 1999a); Chagos Archipelago - Salomon and Egmont (Rathbun, 1911, Galil & Lewinsohn, 1985a), Salomon (Castro, 1999a); Cocos Islands (Tweedie, 1950b, Castro, 1999a); Christmas Island (Calman, 1909, Castro, 1999a); Japan - Amami-shoto and Yaeyama-retto (Sakai, 1976a), Ginowan, Okinawa (Shokita et al., 2000); Taiwan - (Chang et al., 1987), Nan-wan (Galil & Lewinsohn, 1985a); China - Paracel Islands (Dai & Yang, 1991); Philippines - Zamboanga (Miers, 1886, Galil & Lewinsohn, 1985a); Indonesia - Edam Island (de Man, 1888d), Bali, and Ambon (Galil & Lewinsohn, 1985a), Karakelong Island, Amurang, Talisei Island, Lembeh Strait, Obilatu, Ambon and Kupang Bay, Timor, (Castro, 1999b); Caroline Islands - Ifalik and Kapingamarangi Atoll (Galil & Lewinsohn, 1985a); New Britain - Kokopo near Rabaul (Takeda & Nunomura, 1976); Marshall Islands - Eniwetok, Bikini and Arno (Galil & Lewinsohn, 1985a); Kiribati - Onotoa (Galil & Lewinsohn, 1985a); Solomon Islands - Stewart Islands (Sendler, 1923), Malaita (Galil & Lewinsohn, 1985a); Tuvalu - Funafuti (Galil & Lewinsohn, 1985a); Australia - off Lizard Island and Lady Elliott Island (Castro, 1997a); Chesterfield Island (Castro, 1997a); New Caledonia (A. Milne Edwards, 1873, Castro, 1997a); Samoa (Galil & Lewinsohn, 1985a); Hawaiian Islands - Oahu (Rathbun, 1906); Line Islands - Palmyra (Edmondson, 1923), Palmyra and Christmas Island (Galil & Lewinsohn, 1985a); Marquesas Islands - Nuku Hiva (Jacquinot & Lucas, 1853), Nuku Hiva and Hiva Oa (Castro, 1997b); Society Islands - Tahiti (Dana, 1952, Odinetz, 1983, Castro, 1997b), Raiatea (Boone, 1934); Tuamotu Archipelago - Makemo (Rathbun, 1907), Tikehau (Peyrot-Clausade, 1989, Castro, 1997b).

Trapezia rufopunctata