Home|Search|Identify|Taxonomic tree|Quiz|About this site|Feedback
Developed by ETI BioInformatics
Characteristics, distribution and ecology
Taxonomische classification
Synonyms and common names
Literature references
Images, audio and video
Links to other Web sites

(H. Milne Edwards, 1834)

Entire animal naked, carapace transversely ovoid and its regions deeply sculptured in anterior half but almost obliterated in posterior half; 1M and 2F are entirely united with the inner lobule of 2M; 2L and 5L are transversely dilated and defined by deep grooves. Front obtusely 4-lobed, the middle two lobes being a little broader. Antero-lateral borders are composed of five lobes exclusive of the orbital angle, which are more or less tooth-shaped, the last one very small. Orbits are circular and completely closed, the inner angle of infraorbital lobe being in contact with the supraorbital angle, the basal segment of antenna being thus completely excluded from the orbit; the antennal flagellum extremely reduced in size. The epistomial openings of the efferent branchial channels are circular and perforated on either side of the epistome. Chelipeds very unequal, dorsal surface of palm rugose, the movable finger of the major cheliped bears a stout wart-like tooth near the base besides the teeth of the cutting edge. Ambulatory legs are banded with reddish purple. (T. Sakai, 1939: 521)

Type locality: unknown.
Range: Dar es Salaam; South Africa - Kosi Bay (Barnard, 1950); Iles Glorieuses; Ile Europa (Crosnier, 1984); Madagascar - Baie d'Ambaro, Nosy Bé, Fort-Dauphin; Seychelles; Mauritius (Bouvier, 1915b, Michel, 1964); Muscat (Alcock, 1898); Japan - Okinawa (Stimpson, 1907), Okinawa-jima and Northern Daito-jima (Sakai, 1939), Amami-shoto, Yaeyama-retto, Northern Daito-jima and Ogasawara-shoto (Sakai, 1976a), Ogasawara-shoto (Takeda & Kurata, 1976b), Kuroshima, Yaeyama-retto (Miyake, 1983), Takara-jima and Yoron-jima (Muraoka, 1998); Taiwan - Lan-Yü (Sakai, 1939), Lan-Yü and Su-ao (Lin, 1949); China - Paracel Islands (Dai & Yang, 1991); Philippines - Iloilo, Panay Island (Garth & Kim, 1983); Indonesia - Ambon and Noordwachter Island (de Man, 1888d); Fiji; Samoa (Alcock, 1898); Marcus Island (Edmondson, 1923); Kiribati - Charlotte's Island, Kingsmill Group (Dana, 1852); Hawaiian Islands - Oahu (Rathbun, 1906); Line Islands - Palmyra and Tabuaeran (Edmondson, 1923); Tahiti (Dana, 1852).

Lydia annulipes